The 80/20 theory..

23 Sep

“It’s too much work.”

“I don’t have time.”

“I don’t have the will power to keep it going.”

Does this sound familiar???

photo courtesy of toptvstuff.com

Yea.. those are some of the most common phrases uttered by people who just can’t seem push themselves to make a change. I know those phrases well. I SAID THEM FOR FAR TOO LONG!

Here’s the coolest part about Paleo….there is this little, eensy weensy theory that we use (use, not LIVE BY) that says:

STRIVE FOR 100%…KNOWING THAT YOU MAY ONLY BE ABLE TO HIT 80%.

Life happens. Things come up. And situations don’t always allow us to be perfect cavemen(women). Ever since processed foods have been introduced into modern society, we sort of can’t avoid them depending on where we are. If we are always home, never leave, and never eat out- sure! 100% Paleo is a breeze. But that type of lifestyle is just not realistic for most people. We eat out and menus don’t always offer the best solutions (though most restaurants do! I have NO problems eating out now that I’m Paleo!)

Once of the things that got me on the Paleo train at first was the fact that there is this 80/20 theory that simply says you can abide by the Paleo lifestyle 80% of the time while 20% of the time you are non-paleo. If you hit the 80/20 ratio, you will still see excellent results…. more energy, weight loss, health benefits, etc. When I realized that I could change my life slowly, still eat the things I really wanted until I was ready to give them up, and I’d still see results?? I was in. Sign me up.

Photo courtesy of bodybuilding.com

Best thing about this is simply this: I don’t beat myself up if I have something non-Paleo. I don’t stop eating for two days because I had something that was  unacceptable to my lifestyle. I tell myself “80/20 Kristina. It’s all good. Tomorrow is another day.” I don’t stress. I don’t freak. It’s amazing. Because let’s face it- every once in a while you are faced with that delish Carvel ice cream cake for someone’s bday or a night out with friends during which you find the menu offers nothing exactly healthy. This is part of life and I’ll be darned if I lock myself up to avoid it.

So, those of you out there saying, “I just don’t have time.” Or patience. Or money. Or will power. Whatever it is you are using as an excuse- let it go. Paleo allows you to follow your own course and do it in your own time. There is no “bad girl” feeling if you go off course. And once you find the Paleo foods that you love, you will see how easy, quick, and delicious your meals become! I have never again uttered any excuses when it comes to our menu each week. We look forward to food shopping, planning our meals, marinating hunks of meat, persusing the farmers market, and cooking after work.

80/20 guys. Try it. I’m 99% right now, but certainly started 80/20! And every once in a while, I really work that 80/20 theory…. especially when I hit little Italy and Ferrara’s Bakery is calling my name…

Photo courtesy of culinaryfool.com

Let us know your thoughts and whether this 80/20 theory can help give you that little push. I know it did it for me 🙂

2 Responses to “The 80/20 theory..”

  1. wartica September 23, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    I do the same thing; if I eat something not so healthy, I just continue on and keep moving forward!

    jonwatersauthor.com

  2. girls gone healthy September 24, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    exactly!! Paleo makes me realize that a lifestyle change shouldn’t be about beating yourself up..but about building yourself up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

