The BIG Healthy Haul- Trader Joes/Whole Foods Excursion

3 Aug

Have you ever gone somewhere and or tried something new and uttered the phrase, “Where have you been all my life???”

Yea, my Trader Joe’s/ Whole Foods day was THAT moment for me. I have been saying it ever since I returned from the shopping trip…..and I’m counting the days until I can go again.

Is that normal???

Well, I’ve already accepted that I’m not exactly normal (proud of that fact too!) so I’m cool with my Trader Joe daydreams..

So let’s see what I snagged on this trip- WAY MORE goodies here than my first outing. And I’ve already made such amazing dishes with much of the ingredients so it’s already been a super successful excursion!

Ok so obviously fruits and veggies are at the top of any healthy shopping list.. Grabbed some of my faves: broccoli, zucchini, squash, green beans, avocados, sweet potatoes, etc… I even bought some kale with the hopes of trying to make kale chips- I hear they are pretty yummy…

Bob’s Red Mill is just amazing. He has everything and anything you could need for a healthy lifestyle! I chose some all natural baking soda, flaxseed meal, shredded coconut (for some of Krista’s homemade granola bars that I’m dying to make!), and ALMOND MEAL!! Changed my life! I bake with this puppy and it easily replaces flour. Baking with almond meal AND coconut oil is simply perfect 🙂

And there she is- Coconut Oil! Ahhh, isn’t she beautiful?? If you haven’t tried baking or cooking with this lady yet- DO IT! It made my breakfast cookies so rich and almost buttery tasting- and there is NO butter to be seen! Also grabbed apple cider vinegar and sesame seeds. I have this vision of using sesame seeds in lots of dishes so as soon as I find some recipes, this little bottle will be opened and put to good use 🙂

Over the past year and a half (since meeting the BF) I have fallen madly in love with hummus. Thank you Curtis ❤ Up until now, I had a committed relationship with Sabra. But I had to let Sabra go. We were growing apart. All because I found Trader Joe’s Hummus. NEVER. TURNING. BACK. This is the smoothest, most delicious hummus I’ve ever had. Ok, it’s only 9:29am and now I’m craving it….

As I’m learning slowly about living clean and healthy, I am finding out new things that blow my mind. For 31 years (no shame in admitted my age!) I’ve lived on peanut butter. Madly in love with peanut butter. Lately, I had switched to all natural peanut butter. THEN… I learn that peanuts are not even considered nuts and that nut butters are far better for you. Cue Whole Foods fresh nut butter bar…. While they do have fresh peanut butter, I opted for almond butter. Let’s just say that since I brought it home, I’ve yet to put it on anything but a spoon. It is THAT good. I also use it to bake and in smoothies. I’ll be getting the larger size on my next trip back…oh yea, by the way, it comes out of the machine WARM!

Originally I had grabbed these two items for baking purposes.. I knew I loved butter and still wanted to include it in my life. However, finding coconut oil has replaced butter in my baking. So when I need butter, like on my sweet potatoes, I grab this delish GRASS FED butter. If I’m going to eat dairy, I want to make sure it’s grass fed. Little food for thought…literally. 🙂

Sugar bad- Honey GOOD! Used it to replace honey in baking recipes and found that it worked perfectly!! Nuts, dried fruits, and seeds are a important part of any healthy diet so I grabbed some almonds, raisins, and sunflower seeds. Made my own trail mix and carry it with me wherever I go!

Here is my pride and joy of my shopping trip! Beautiful basil plant! Cant wait to create amazing dishes with this baby!

No shopping trip or meal for that matter is complete (in my opinion) without chocolate. I have this weird thing where I legitimately CRAVE chocolate after every meal- even breakfast. I feel like it just completes me and my belly. So, here we go! Dark chocolate candy bars!! As long as they are 85% cacao or higher they are good to munch. As with anything, eat in moderation. But if you need that little chocolate punch in your diet, turn to this dark, velvety chocolate treat 🙂

What do you think??? I felt amazing when I came home and put it all away. I smiled like a fool the entire time. I’m a weirdo, I know. But my life is changing and these little steps take me closer and closer to where I want to be. Every healthy tidbit I put into my body is welcomed….and as a thank you, my body gives me crazy energy and an overall feeling of well being. Never thought I’d thank my body (since up until now, I’ve generally hated it lol).

See anything on here that you have? Or want? Comment below and share you thoughts!

6 Responses to “The BIG Healthy Haul- Trader Joes/Whole Foods Excursion”

  1. rachel d August 3, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I agree 10000%… Trader Joe’s hummus is THE BEST. I always get the Mediterranean kind. I will never, ever, ever get any other brand of hummus! Even my husband’s grandmother who said she didn’t like hummus LOVED this one!
    And don’t feel like a weirdo… I find that going to Trader Joes and Whole Foods is a religious experience =) I don’t use coconut oil for cooking very often (though I know I should, I use evoo), but I do use it instead of lotion! Works sooo much better on my skin!

    • girls gone healthy August 4, 2012 at 12:39 am #

      Haha I’m so glad you are with me on the Trader Joe’s experience!! I can’t wait to go back!!!!! I heard about coconut oil being uh-mazing on skin!! Can’t wait to try it!

  2. Krista August 3, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    Just learned how great sunflower seeds are for you, definitely glad I’ve been putting them in everything and that you got some!!! And I can’t wait to get my act together and finally start guest posting because coconut oil is the best for cooking and beauty!!! 🙂

    • girls gone healthy August 4, 2012 at 12:38 am #

      Yes please get some posts going for us! we wanna learn all the goodies you’ve been learning! xoxo

  3. Pappa Don't Preach August 3, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I love Trader Joes! It’s always so exciting going there and I love how they have seasonaly items regularly! You’ll never know what you’ll find next! Not sure if your location has it, but I recently fell in love with their gucamole hummus! YUPPPP! Absolutely delicious!

    • girls gone healthy August 4, 2012 at 12:38 am #

      OMG I will have to def try guac hummus- two of my fave things!!! Glad I’m not the only Trader Joe’s junkie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

