Breakfast Cookies

2 Aug

So since we last spoke ( a whole couple days ago), I have decided to make a valiant effort to go Paleo. My cavegirl friend Krista will be schooling everyone on this lifestyle soon here on Girls Gone Healthy. Until then, all you need to know is this:

If it’s from a plant- GOOD!

If it’s made IN a plant- BAD!

There is obviously far more to it, but that is the gist. I, however, am going to follow it about 80%…. simply because there are a few things that I’m just NOT willing to let go of (cue Sunday pasta dinner)…

Monday, Krista and I make our trip to Trader Joes and Whole Foods and I was in heaven. I will be posting that trip and the goodies I snagged in the next few days!!

For now, I am going to share a DELISH recipe that I found on www.comfybelly.com which is a super wonderful site with super fantastic recipes for clean, healthy eating. PERFECTION for this girl! πŸ™‚

In the morning, I tend to debate (when I don’t have work… when I do, I don’t have much time to think about what I”m going to eat. Which is sort of why these cookies are stinkin perfect for me) on what I’m going to eat for breakfast. I end up with a healthy take on a western omelette (eggs, peppers, spinach) and it’s extremely fulfilling and delicious! But really, how many mornings can you eat the same thing? However healthy it may be, it gets old after a while. I was asking Krista what she tends to eat for breakfast and she immediately said, “OH! I just made breakfast cookies!!” and that ended that. I’m pretty easily convinced when the word “cookie” is in the conversation…

So here is my version of ComfyBelly’s Breakfast Cookie Recipe:

Ingredients (makes about 25 cookies)

  • 2 1/2 cups of almond meal or almond flour (either works, but I used almond meal. If you’d rather a smoother cookie, go for the flour)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of all natural baking soda (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil (my new obsession!!!!!!)
  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 1/2 tablespoon of almond butter (this is my little addition because, well, I LOVE almond butter)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon of all natural vanilla extract
  • about 2 cups of nuts, dried fruit, seeds (I used sunflower seeds, raisins, dark chocolate chunks that I broke off from trader joe’s chocolate bar, and some flaxseed meal- you can throw in anything you’d like!)

Hmm, ya think I made out good at Trader Joe’s?? Oh hey, coconut oil- you looking mighty fiiiine…. πŸ˜‰

Can’t go wrong with Flaxseed! Put it on anything, everything- does only good things for your body πŸ™‚

Mmmmmm fresh Whole Foods Almond Butter!!! Drooling???

OK- Time to make the cookies!

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and blend with a spoon.

3. Add the wet ingredients and blend it well with a spoon.

4. Drop about a tablespoon of batter in each cookie spot on the cookie sheets. Space them about 1 inch apart.

5. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until they are starting to brown around the edges.

6. Cool and enjoy!!! Store in a sealed container.

Let us know how it goes when you try these puppies! All I can say is- breakfast tomorrow won’t be a challenge. 2 breakfast cookies and half a grapefruit? YES PLEASE! Enjoy!!

xoxokristina

One Response to “Breakfast Cookies”

  1. Krista August 2, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    I made these, ate one for breakfast with a banana and literally had energy and was not even remotely hungry after, even when lunchtime came! Delicious!

Leave a Reply

