Shopping Trip Numero Uno! WEGMANS!

26 Jul

Ok, so last post focused on the must haves for a healthy kitchen. I hope you all jotted some goodies down and went out to get em!

I did 🙂

Though it was a small trip- I think it was pretty darn successful.. The best way to stock your kitchen to fit your new healthy lifestyle is to do it slowly… grab some essentials, but as you come across recipes you want to try, then make a new list and go out and get what you need for the week. This trip was simply a “let’s try a few things” sort of trip… I will have part two coming soon! On Monday,  my girl Krista takes me to TRADER JOE’S! Yippeeee!

Let’s see what I got…

First off- ALMOND MILK! This stuff is delish, especially vanilla flavored. Look at the protein in this puppy! Skeptical about almond milk? Let me give you some info to get you over the hump…

First off..it contains more nutrients than any other dairy alternatives- so that’s pretty awesome. There are some amazing health benefits related to drinking almond milk: weight management, heart healthy, it’s blood sugar friendly, bone health, skin care, eye health, and more muscle power. Um, no brainer right?? Check this article out to give you more details.

Next…..

Lots of my favorite goodies- quinoa, beans, fruits and veggies!! If you know me, and you will pretty soon if you don’t- I LOVE BEANS. I pretty much put them in anything and everything. Though they are considered “incomplete” proteins because they do not hold as many proteins as meat, they do have enough to pack a punch and they offer lots of other good health benefits:

Beans have been proven to lower cholesterol, lower blood pressure, regulate functions of the color, reduce the risk of many cancers, among other things. It’s also pretty cool that the richly colored beans such as kidney beans offer a huge amount of antioxidants AND small red kidney beans rate even higher than blueberries in this area! Knew I loved these little legumes for a reason 🙂

Onto quinoa- my new favorite side dish. It’s pronounced [keen- wa] and is a SUPER food. It can be used and made in so many yummy recipes and packs amazing health benefits. It is a protein powerhouse and has become a fave new treat among vegans and vegetarians because it’s protein content matches, if not trumps, the protein found in meat and eggs. Plus it tastes yummy. Win/win, I’d say. Read up on this site for more info on this delish dish.

Fruits and Veggies- Oh my! Anything I tell you about these power foods is already common knowledge so all I will tell you is – EAT LOTS OF EM! I decided to buy grapefruit for it’s vitamin C and help with digestion. It also aids with weight loss because it is low in sodium, high in fat burning enzymes, and has high water content. Trifecta of goodness for a fit bod 🙂

Then of course, I bought spinach. My absolute fave leafy veggie. It is high in fiber and high in antioxidants- both are super important when making healthy eating choices. Any foods that offer these things, should be on your shelves.

And bananas? Well, duh, bananas are just amazing. Now, I don’t actually like bananas. The texture just doesn’t do it for me. BUT banana flavored ANYTHING is perfection. So I bought these puppies to freeze in order to make Kim’s yummy peanut butter banana smoothie. Yummm! Bananas are super high in fiber and relatively low in calories. Eating bananas or banana smoothies can help curb your hunger too… score!

Whats next??

Ahh yesss, treats. No shopping trip would be acceptable or successful without treats. I opted for salty and sweet. Heard so many good things about Annie’s so I grabbed a box of chocolate bunnies- I LOVED chocolate Teddy Grahams so I figured this was a great alternative. (Um, they are. So gooooood). Kashi is another company that I like. All natural (though I did see an article that claims otherwise, but who knows.) I do know that I feel good when I eat Kashi and it tastes darn good too.

So there it is! My first little mini trip… and I think it was pretty stinkin successful. Can’t wait for my Trader Joe’s trip with Krista! There I will be getting all my oils, and nuts, and goodies like that. So pumped to try coconut oil! Krista is Paleo and will be teaching me a little about that lifestyle. She’s also going to start guest blogging for us so you all can learn too!

So what have you guys gotten?? Any suggestions for my Trader Joe’s trip??

Leave a Reply

